I asked Allah for five Riyals


“During the afternoon prayer in Makkah, a man called upon me to pray next to him in order to close between the gaps. As soon as I finished, I moved slightly backwards to feel more comfortable. I looked at the man and he seemed as if he were of the poorer people in the Haram, but he had his hands on his laps in du’aa in the state of Khushoo’ (humility). He seemed very pious and sincere.

I reached for my pocket to get out my money, which were folded, and I had riyals made up of ones, fives, and tens. I drew out a five and placed it in the palm of my hands. I then approached him to shake his hands. He returned the hand shake but when he felt the money in between my hand he immediately pulled back and said, “jazzak Allahu Khairan”. He didn’t notice how much was in there. I asked him, “Won’t you accept it?” The man turned his back and chose not to reply so I presumed he is person who refrains from taking money. So I placed the money back in my pocket.

I waited a while and later stood up to pray the Sunnah, and all the while it appeared like the man was waiting for me to finish my prayer to say something. He came to me and asked, “How much did you give me?” So I replied, “I offered it to you but you refused so you don’t have to worry if  it were one or one hundred riyal”.

The man continued and said, “I ask you by Allah, how much did you give me?” I replied, “Don’t ask me anymore, what is between you and I is over”. He said, “I asked Allah for five riyals, how much did you give me??” I said, “I swear by Allah that I gave you five riyals”.

The man began to weep. He said, “I was still asking Allah for five riyals as you were handing the money to me” I said, “Then why did you refuse it?” He replied again, “I didn’t expect that my prayer would be answered so quickly, so I went back to say ‘Subhanna Allah’.”

Source

One Comment on “I asked Allah for five Riyals”

  1. […] googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1326644231210-0'); }); "During the afternoon prayer in Makkah, a man called upon me to pray next to him in order to close between the gaps. As soon as I finished, I moved slightly backwards to feel more comfortable. I looked at the man and he seemed as if he were of the poorer people in the Haram, but he had his hands on his laps in du'aa in the state of Khushoo' (humility). He seemed very pious and sincere. I reached for my pocket to get out my money, which were folded, and I had riyals made up of ones, fives, and tens. I drew out a five and placed it in the palm of my hands. I then approached him to shake his hands. He returned the hand shake but when he felt the money in between my hand he immediately pulled back and said, "jazzak Allahu Khairan". He didn't notice how much was in there. I asked him, "Won't you accept it?" The man turned his back and chose not to reply so I presumed he is person who refrains from taking money. So I placed the money back in my pocket. I waited a while and later stood up to pray the Sunnah, and all the while it appeared like the man was waiting for me to finish my prayer to say something. He came to me and asked, "How much did you give me?" So I replied, "I offered it to you but you refused so you don't have to worry if it were one or one hundred riyal". The man continued and said, "I ask you by Allah, how much did you give me?" I replied, "Don't ask me anymore, what is between you and I is over". He said, "I asked Allah for five riyals, how much did you give me??" I said, "I swear by Allah that I gave you five riyals". The man began to weep. He said, "I was still asking Allah for five riyals as you were handing the money to me" I said, "Then why did you refuse it?" He replied again, "I didn't expect that my prayer would be answered so quickly, so I went back to say 'Subhanna Allah'." Source […]


Leave a Reply

