“If you had called me…Ya Umar’

A man  called upon ‘Umar bin ‘Abdulaziz and said, ‘Ya Khalifat Allah Fil Ard’ (Allah’s chosen  successor and ruler on earth).

‘Umar replied, ‘When I was born, my family chose a name for me, and named me Umar, so if you had called me and said: ‘Ya Umar’ , I would have replied. When I grew older, I choose for myself a kunya and named myself Aba Hafs, so if you had called me and said, ‘Ya Aba Hafs’ , I would have replied. Later you handed me the responsibilities of your affairs and named me ‘Amir Al-Mu’mineen’ (leader of the belivers), so if you had called me and said, ‘Amir Al-Mu’mineen’, I would have replied. However, calling me ‘Khalifat Allah Fil Ard’ and I am not that. The successors of Allah upon this earth are the likes of Prophet Dawood, may peace be upon him, “O David, indeed We have made you a successor upon the earth” [38:26]

[‘Seerat ‘Umar bin Abdulaziz’ by Ibn AbdulHakam, 51-52]

That’s an example of a humble and noble manmay Allah be pelased with him.

Leave a Reply

